Family

Our daughter and two sons were delivered last night. Seeing and holding them was so intensely beautiful and tragic and unreal, and is beyond description.

The triplets arrived pretty quickly after the medication was administered. They arrived in order and without additional difficulty. Baby A was stillborn. The other two were born alive. They were swaddled tightly and tucked into newborn-sized knitted hats. We held them during their brief moments of life, and, along with their brother, for a couple of hours after. I couldn’t tell when they passed. We stared into their tiny faces and at their perfect ears and fingernails. All three are gorgeous.

Last night, we became parents. That can never be taken away from us, even if everything else has been. We are forever changed. I love them and I’ll carry them with me the rest of my life.

This entry was posted in Delivery, Emotions. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Family

  1. Nickey says:

    I don’t think I have wept this much since my grandmother (Brendon’s grandmother’s twin sister) passed away. I am truly at a loss for words but I do want you to know that the prayers haven’t stopped. You two are truly amazing parents! Much love, Nickey

  2. Julie Higgins says:

    Crying as I look at the picture and read your last note. SO glad you got the opportunity to meet and spend time with your little Angels. Thank you for letting us be part of such an intimate time in your lives. We wish you guys all the best and will be keeping you all in our thoughts.
    Much Love,
    Bill and Julie

  3. Louise Emery says:

    You guys don’t know me, but I’ve been following your journey since a friend asked me to pray for you guys earlier this week. Please know that my heart is breaking for you. I will continue to pray for your family as you go through this emotional and heart wrenching journey. “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. ” Psalms 34:18

  4. Ashley says:

    It breaks my heart to hear of your tragic losses. Nothing compares to the death of a child. I am so glad that you had time with the babies and have pictures. I only saw my sweet Alexis for a brief second and was too broken up and weak to take pictures. I have wished I had. I admire your strength and courage and honesty. You are right, you are parents. You were the minute they were conceived. They will forever be in your hearts. I am praying for you always and have all of my family and friends praying as well. Please know that I am here if you need to talk.

  5. Rhonda says:

    You do not know me, but I have learned of your story through a mutual friend. My heart aches for you and your family. I do not know what to say other than that I will continue to pray for both of you. I know that your hearts are breaking, and I hope that God places his hand on you in a mighty way.
    Sincerely,
    Rhonda Greenup, friend of Ashley Webber

  6. Zoe says:

    Cara and Brendon,

    Tim and I were heartbroken to hear about you and your beautiful babies. Words can never express how sorry we feel for your loss. I continue to have you in my thoughts and prayers. You are both so strong and you are wonderful parents.

    Much love to you both
    Zoe and Tim

  7. Linda says:

    Cara, thank you for this beautiful post and picture. Forever in our hearts. ❤ ❤ ❤

  8. Tricia says:

    I am another one of Ashley’s friends that has been praying for you and your babies. I am so very sorry for your loss. There is nothing this world can offer you as consolation, it is only God’s healing and the knowledge that your children were welcomed into the arms of Jesus as they passed from yours. I will continue to pray for you.

    And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee. ~ II Corinthians 12:9

  9. LaGramma says:

    We are so grateful to have this beautiful picture of you five sharing your brief time together. Thank you for a lovely memory from a heartbreaking time.
    We are so proud to have you as our family. Love always, Mom and Dad

  10. norma smith says:

    I am a friend of Ashleys and I have been praying and thinking about you all .
    My heart is truly breaking for you. There are really no words I can offer just know that I am still praying for you and I am so sorry for your loss.
    Love and prayers Norma Smith

  11. John and Linda says:

    Dear Cara and Brenden –

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you tonight and always. We wrote a short verse to try and share our feelings – from one parent to another.

    A baby’s eyes
    Reflect a mother’s love,
    A father’s pride,
    A sense of wonder.

    A baby’s hands
    Touch the soul,
    Share a dream.

    A baby’s heart
    Reveals the beauty of family,
    The joy of union,
    The miracle of life.

  12. Mary Ann Watson says:

    Dear Cara and Brendon;
    My heart is breaking for you both. I understand the loss of a child, but your ache is times three. You are wonderful parents, and will be blessed again. We here at Tech Services mourn with you, and admire you both for the strength and courage you have shown. God be with you both, now and always.
    mary ann

  13. Ana Quillopo says:

    It breaks my hearts when i heard the sad news. There are really no words i can offer. Your little angels are in heaven. Hold on together and god be with you and always.
    Ana Quillopo

  14. Judit Sedillos says:

    God Bless whoever thought to so lovingly wrap your babies into knitted hats.

  15. Becky Miller McGown says:

    Cara,
    I have been reading your blog since we became friends on facebook. You must be going through so much pain right now and my heart goes out to you. I admire your bravery in the face of such tragedy. I hope that you can manage some comfort here and there–you are obviously surrounded by family, friends (and facebook friends!) in our thoughts and prayers.
    *hugs*
    Becky Miller McGown

Leave a Reply

