Pregnancy #2: Blog Revival

The blogging hiatus is officially lifted! As you likely already know – at least, friends and family who have found your way here (as opposed to those who arrived via Google) – B and I are expecting again.

Meet Baby D, a.k.a. “Azuki Bean”

The baby (just one!) is due on January 14, and will be delivered in a Japanese hospital. Yep – if you weren’t aware, we moved to Japan during the hiatus since that last post. Anyway, right now I’m 20 weeks pregnant, or halfway there already. (No, we don’t know yet if it’s a girl or boy. We’re hoping to find out at my next ultrasound in just a couple of days.)

Why wait until now to start blogging about it? Well, for one thing, we waited quite a while before sharing the news at all. Second, quite honestly there hasn’t been all that much to tell. I’ve felt great, and there have been zero concerns. Well, okay, except my blood pressure; but the meds have that under control, and it seems to be a chronic problem rather than a pregnancy problem anyway. Even as blissfully dull as the first four and a half months have been, I have picked up on the increasing hints out there, and so I’m bringing back the blog because:

  • I know that we have family and friends who love us and want to hear every single thing about our precious little spawn, both before and after it’s born, and especially with us being so far away; and:
  • Email tends to leave people out, since it only goes to the selection of people I think to include; while:
  • Not everyone on Facebook cares, and not everyone who cares is on Facebook.

So I’m back to a point where blogging seems like the ideal format for sharing news from the doctor’s office and pictures of my growing belly, et al, ad nauseam. If you aren’t interested you don’t have to follow, and if you are, you get to choose how closely you want to follow – either check back once in a while, or subscribe for email updates whenever I post something new. Plus, it keeps the whole “conversation” in one place, which I definitely like.

Admittedly yes, I do have some mixed feelings about using this same space, where we captured last year’s tragedy, to record what will hopefully be a much happier adventure. But you know what? Right now I have the exact same intent that I had when I started out blogging the first pregnancy – to share with the broader family and friends our little family’s happy stuff, and when it comes up, the not-so-happy stuff too. I ultimately don’t find it inappropriate to quite literally bring some new life into this same space, because really, it’s just a new, optimistic chapter in one continuous story. I don’t want to dwell in the past; but then, neither do I want to deny what happened. If you want to keep the mood light, then I advise not reading any posts older than this one.

So welcome, or welcome back, as the case may be. (More pictures will be coming soon.)

P.S., for friends / family who might be wondering: I’m sorry I quit writing my “life in Japan” blog, but not sorry enough to get it going again.

This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pregnancy #2: Blog Revival

  1. Grandma Cheryl says:

    I’m looking forward to all the happy news in the future!

  2. Lorraine Benson says:

    Thank you so much for including me. We are so excited for you and this journey of yours. Please alert me whenever there is a new post……..Lorraine

Leave a Reply

