Not Too Long Now!

Well, it seems I’ve started very early labor. Way not ready to head to the hospital just yet though.

The doctor’s exam this morning revealed that I’m about 2 cm dilated, and the printout from the fetal monitoring showed I’d had two contractions during that 40-or-so minutes, even though I hadn’t noticed them. Now, I know you can be dilated a couple of centimeters and have secret contractions for a couple of weeks before going into ‘real’ labor, so I got another appointment set up for Monday morning, and then I carried on with the day.

Around 4:30 this afternoon, though, I did start feeling some contractions. Or, at least, some slightly uncomfortable moments of tightness that were repeating, though not necessarily with a regular pattern. Still, they are definitely not random like fetal movements, and they’ve continued through the evening in spite of changing position, walking around, eating dinner, etc. I’m not calling the byouin until they’re either considerably more painful or closer together or both – but, I did finish packing my bag.

It’s 11 pm now and yep, they are definitely still happening anywhere between every six and fifteen minutes, not really changing much, not really getting any more intense. But hey, if this is going to last for many hours (days?), then I’m quite happy it doesn’t actually hurt yet.

It could still be a while yet, but I will try to keep you all updated.

This entry was posted in Delivery. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not Too Long Now!

  1. Aunt Linda says:

    We are all eagerly anticipating her arrival! But of course, I’d be happy if she bakes until the 15th and then makes her glorious entrance!

  2. Lindsey Lengyel says:

    What exciting news! Good luck with your delivery!!! We will all be anxiously awaiting news (and pictures)!!!!!!

  3. Tiffany Stanley says:

    If the contractions are hurting, it really helped me to lay in the bath! The day Annabelle was born, I woke up at 2am with painful contractions so I stayed in bed until 4. I finally woke Ben up and told him I was in labor but my water had not broken so I was going to lay in the tub until we called my midwife at 6 who told me to stay in the tub until the office opened. The car ride was pretty bad bc the contractions were much more painful outside the tub. I was admitted to the hospital as soon as I got to the office. She was born at 3:06 that afternoon! Sweet Cara and Brendon, we are overjoyed that you soon will meet your little girl! We love you both and though we can’t physically be there- our hearts and thoughts are always with both of you. We can’t wait to see you again and meet azuki bean!
    Love,
    Tiff, Ben, and Rosebud Stanley

Leave a comment