Twenty Fifteen

Hi friends, family, and total strangers! It’s been a while. So long, in fact, that I basically forgot this blog entirely. Oops.

Let’s catch up a bit! It’s 2015 and life is just crazy. Seriously. Things are in a total state of flux. Our household on February 1 will hardly resemble our household of January 1.

Let’s see, where to begin… Not long after my last blog post forever and ever ago, I got a job. (That’s been the biggest culprit in my blog-neglect, by the way.) By the end of January, I’ll be changing jobs. There’s a little bit of “TBD” with the whole situation, so, more to this story as it develops. Regardless of how it plays out, it should be a very positive change!

Next item. Just before Halloween, a good friend of mine who had hit some bumps in the road moved in with us temporarily. We’ll call her “Fah,” which was Vivian’s name for her. Fah took took over some of Vivian’s care and generally added some excitement to the house. Well, Fah got a job 1700 miles away, so last week she packed up her car and she struck out westward. Good for her, all the best to her.

Thirdly, depressingly, B is leaving on deployment. Details aren’t for the internet, but this will be by far the longest he and I have spent apart. We’ve been trying to explain it to Vivian, but I don’t think it’s a concept any two-year-old* could quite wrap her brain around. Concepts like “months” and “the other side of the world” just don’t really connect for her. I know she’ll miss him a lot, though, and so will I.

The good news for you guys is that the deployment gives incentive for me to do a new blog revival. Hopefully one with better staying power than last time. Writing – or more to the point, making myself write – gives me both structure and accountability. I think both will be useful in keeping me sane. I hope you’ll be willing to indulge my sharing some things here besides just cute baby updates, because I’ve got a bunch of projects and stuff to keep me busy through the whole deployment. Whaddaya say?

*Oh, and about that two-year-old comment up there: Vivian’s birthday is on Friday! See? Changes everywhere!

IMG_4167

“Bring me ALL the noo-noos!!”

This entry was posted in Announcements, Baby Pictures, Deployment, Projects, Working Mama. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twenty Fifteen

  1. Good to hear from you. Looking forward to more. It’s amazing how Viv is growing. I can’t imagine having my husband gone for long periods with small children. God bless.

Leave a Reply

